Then Came Morgan Carter

Post #4

MorganCarter

Yes I named the Blog post after a fictional character of a book, that for some odd reason I related to on a level I would have never imagined. We are by no means twins, but the character that was created by Angery American (AA’s Facebook Page), AKA Chris Weatherman just fit with many of the things I was starting to think about, and I ultimately now believe are some of what is wrong with the world, and our country. I don’t agree 100% with some of the things the character does or thinks, but I can completely relate to the reasoning behind it. Bottom line is I loved the entire series, and they helped push me past the excuses I was making.

The Going Home series of book hooked me from the beginning! The first book “Going home” Starts off with an EMP that basically brings down the system, and by the system I mean the entire country, and our way of living. That alone isn’t the part that hooked me, it’s a common enough way to start a survival/post-apocalyptic style book, but Morgan Carter the main character on the other hand was the hook and his trip home reeled me in. Morgan works on the road, and at the start of the book he was 250 miles from home. As I said briefly before I’m a mechanic, but more specifically im a road service technician, and am also often far away from home. I no longer do long distance service work, but I still am typically 50 miles away from home. The cause of Morgan’s predicament is something that I now feel is possible, however I didnt come to this conclution simply from these books (more on that later). With that being said I was finding myself spending a larger amount of time thinking about his situation, its similarities to mine, and how I would be able to “Get home”.

One of the things I really enjoyed about Chris’s books was that he wrote them about situations that could happen to any of us if we were to see a breakdown of society for what ever reason, Morgan Carter wasnt a special forces operator with decades of training. He wrote his books in such a manner that the characters approached each situation right then and there, more often then not it was dealt with in a very final manner, and then they moved on to the next situation. Although his resources by the end of the series were esxtreme, and he was incredibly prepaired for almost anything they are prepps that are by all means possible! Chris also, through Morgan does a lot of product name dropping in the books, but it didnt have the feel of advertisment, and I beleive these are actually items that the author has used at one point. The fact that I also had already known of these products from the Facebook groups I had been frequenting lent a bit of credibility to the concepts. It made me feel that the writer had done his research either for the book, real life, or both. It felt like Chris had some experience with the concepts of the book. In the first book Morgan goes into great detail describing the contents of his bag, the equipment he has, and his survival tactics as he begins his walk home. I also didnt take any of the books as a written survival handbook, but more of a mind opener to the possibilities of what could happen, and maybe a few options i didnt think of on how to deal with things.

The Going Home series of books completely ended my journey on the excuse train. It opened my eyes to what could happen. No matter how far-fetched you may think it is, remember that most of the things that have been the basis of these types of books have happened many times in history, and the cause of the breakdown of society in the Going Home series is based on fact. No one may know exaclty what would happen during and after a large scale EMP strike, but I believe the results in these books are at least a possibility.

Although I use the authors first name like i know him personally I do not, but I wanted to say that he also answers questions to his facebook page rather quickly and seems more down to earth then some others I have met. I am also absolutely not a book reviewer, and I didnt want to give much away, but if you are into survival/SHTF/TEOTWAWKI Books give this one a shot.

More to come

Author: Jeremy J

I am a Photographer, Mechanic, and Father not always in that order.

Leave a Reply

